SCIEX announces latest winner of electrophoresis award

Skip to Navigation

Blog Post

  • Published: Apr 13, 2016
  • Author: Jon Evans
  • Source: SCIEX
  • Suppliers: AB SCIEX
  • Channels: Sample Preparation / HPLC / Proteomics & Genomics / Detectors / Gas Chromatography / Laboratory Informatics / Electrophoresis / Ion Chromatography

View comments on this post

Bohuslav Gaš, dean of the Faculty of Science at the Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic, has been named the latest recipient of the Arnold O. Beckman Medal and Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievements in the field of electro-driven separation techniques. The award is sponsored by SCIEX.

The Arnold O. Beckman award is given to an individual for noteworthy career achievements supported by a significant lifelong body of work, with particular consideration being given to the development of new methods, techniques and high-impact applications in the field of electro-driven separations. Attendees of the International Symposia on Microscale Bioseparations, which recently took place in Canada, submit a list of potential honorees based on their achievements, and the strategic planning committee of the symposium series then selects a winner. The award comprises a medal, a diploma and a monetary prize.

Gaš has been a driving force in understanding the fundamentals of capillary electrophoresis (CE), including facets of electromigration and zone broadening, the Kohlrausch regulation function, system peaks and resonance. At Charles University, he has advised 25 master and doctoral students, has published 130 papers, holds 13 patents, and has been awarded the Silver medal of Charles University merit award. He has been a deputy editor of Electrophoresis, and for 13 years he was the editor of special issues of Electrophoresis on fundamentals. For the last seven years he has held the position of the dean of the Faculty of Science at Charles University and is also a member of the Presidium of the Czech Science Foundation.

“At SCIEX we are proud to sponsor this annual Medal and Award that recognizes the achievements of those that have made such a significant impact on capillary electrophoresis,” said Jeff Chapman, senior director for the separations business at SCIEX. “Professor Gaš's mathematical modeling of electromigration processes and enablement of the scientific community with software-like tools like simul and peak master have laid the ground work for a great deal of the methods development and problem solving being done in CE today.”

“I am honored to be the recipient of the prestigious Arnold O. Beckman award, a distinguished accolade that has been in so many diverse scientific and technical disciplines,” said Gaš. “Professor Beckman is someone that I have admired and drawn inspiration from for his accomplishments, and his work reaffirms that we as scientists can share similarly sized curiosities. I would like to express my sincere gratitude for the contributions of Arnold O. Beckman to technology and to also express my thanks to SCIEX for this prestigious award.”

(Photo of Bohuslav Gaš courtesy of SCIEX.)


There are currently no comments on this post.

Comment Form

You have to log in to comment on this post.

Log in using the form at the top of the page or register here.

Social Links

Share This Links

Bookmark and Share


Suppliers Selection
Societies Selection

Banner Ad

Click here to see
all job opportunities

Most Viewed

Copyright Information

Interested in spectroscopy? Visit our sister site

Copyright © 2020 John Wiley & Sons, Inc. All Rights Reserved