Webinar
Now available on-demand

A Method for Analysis of Vanillic Acid and p-Hydroxybenzoic Acid in Polar Ice Cores

Skip to Navigation

Monthly Highlight

  • Published: Aug 22, 2014
  • Author: Mackenzie GriemanThermo
  • Categories: Detectors / Laboratory Informatics / HPLC / Electrophoresis / Ion Chromatography / Gas Chromatography / Sample Preparation
thumbnail image: <font color=red>Webinar<br/>Now available on-demand</font><br/>A Method for Analysis of Vanillic Acid  and <I>p</I>-Hydroxybenzoic Acid in Polar Ice Cores

A Method for Analysis of Vanillic Acid and
p-Hydroxybenzoic Acid in Polar Ice Cores


Thursday, September 11, 2014

8am PDT  |  11am EDT  |  4pm UK  |  5pm CEST

Register now >>>

Biomass burning plays a major role in the atmospheric chemistry, the global carbon cycle, and climate. However, the relationship between biomass burning and climate is not well understood. Therefore, well-dated records are needed to establish a history of biomass burning. In polar ice cores, several chemicals associated with fire emissions have been used as paleofire proxies. Two of these chemicals, vanillic acid and p-hydroxybenzoic acid, are produced by the incomplete combustion of plant lignin, transported long distances via aerosols, and deposited onto ice sheets.

This webinar will provide an overview the analysis of these compounds at parts per trillion levels in polar ice core samples using ion chromatography (IC) with MS/MS detection. Measurements of vanillic acid and p-hydroxybenzoic acid from a Siberian ice core will be shown as an example application of this method.

Key learning objectives

  • Provide information about the use of proxies in ice cores to reconstruct past climate
  • Discuss the use of IC-MS/MS for trace analysis of organic compounds

Who should attend?

  • Researchers who are interested in paleoclimatology, ice core science, or trace analysis using IC-MS/MS

Register now >>>

In association with:
  
                                 Pittcon 2015                             Current Protocols

Social Links

Share This Links

Bookmark and Share

Microsites

Suppliers Selection
Societies Selection

Banner Ad

Click here to see
all job opportunities

Most Viewed

Copyright Information

Interested in spectroscopy? Visit our sister site spectroscopyNOW.com

Copyright © 2017 John Wiley & Sons, Inc. All Rights Reserved